Light-O-Rama Forums

'09 display struck by lightening....

Big Island Brandon

New member here....just wanted to say hello! I've been using LOR for 4 years now and am up to 80 channels.

This was my second year in Hawaii....and first large display. However, we had 2 days of thunderstorms a week before Christmas and lightening hit our electric pole, causing a power surge. So, all 80 channels fried! Also lost a couple televisions, 2 laptops, my fm transmitter, a router, and on and on. I can do without most of this, but not my controllers! Anyway, just wanted to say hi.... Going to be rebuilding all my controllers this summer. And while I'm at it....going to use it as an excuse to add a few more!!!

Aloha from the islands.....

Brandon

Good evening

Brandon

did you get video of that light show

its just a setback like the 2 foot of snow in Jersey that

buried the displays up there

make it a better 2010 display

more --- more- ---- more

Frank A.:)

No....no video! Wanted video of my display and was going to do it right after the storm passed. No video of the lightening either.

I lived in Colorado before moving out here and had a few of those snows right before Christmas...so I know what you mean! Never had to deal with lightening in Colorado so I learned a valuable lesson......going to add a bunch of surge protectors this year!

I hope to add a couple cosmic color ribbons this year as well....

Big Island Brandon wrote:

New member here....just wanted to say hello! I've been using LOR for 4 years now and am up to 80 channels.