Light-O-Rama Forums

Getting started with CCR

Lorrie

Hi. I'm really glad that I found this forum. I am just getting started with the world of LOR, but now I have discovered CCR. My question is simple - is each unit stand alone, or can you connect so many units together to run off of 1 controller. I keep reading through the speck sheets, but the info is kind of vague (or over my head).

Thanks!

Lorrie

There are two concepts in play here...Network and the Channels. CCR is standalone, but only stand-alone from the perspective of the channels. You still need to 'link' it into the LOR network via Cat-5.

The Network is what is used to send the information from the PC to the lights and CCR to say 'turn on, turn off' etc.

For instance, if you had a LOR 16 channel controller for some lights, you could 'link' the CCR to the controller and then the controller back to your PC (all through Cat 5e) and then attach the Cat 5e to the PCvia USB or Serial. This way, the hardware utility can see both the 16-Channel controller AND the CCR with only one connection (USB or Serial).

Make sense?

After reading my response, I actually want to clarify a bit more...

The CCR does have a built-in controller, but is only for controlling the ribbon itself. The 16-channel LOR controller is simply another style controller which allows you to plug in up to 16 different lights and control them individually.

You connect controllers together to form the LOR network which is used to communicate from the PC out to the controllers for programming the shows and controlling the lights.

Thanks,This part I understand. I guess a better question would be, if I want to run say 6 CCRs, do I need to purchase 6 units, or can I connect them all together?I read through the speck sheet, and saw where it was refering to 1 -3 CCR units, but din't understand.

Thanks,

Lorrie

Lorrie wrote: