Light-O-Rama Forums

How to create a cascade fall effect on arches

toddmoon

Ok, I am still a newbie. I have been trying to create a cascade falling effect on three arches that I want to display side by side in a straight line. How do I get a falling effect starting from the top and ending at the bottom of the arch?

Ideas suggestions? A copy of the programming effect would be great to look at.

Unless I am missing something in your question:

For a 7 channel arch..

Turn on channel 4
Start to fade 4 turn on 3 and 5
Start to fade 3 and 5 turn on 2 and 6
Start to fade 2 and 6 turn on 1 and 7
Fade 1 and 7.

This is for an odd number of channels. For even, you will need to start with the top 2 channels (one big reason for using odd channels).

Is that what you are looking for?

Thanks for your help. It is what I am looking for. I have been watching it on my program animate program but I just am not happy with the effect so far. It still do not have the timing motion effect that I am looking for yet. I will just have to keep working on it. I may just go ahead and setup my arches in my backyard and hook the system up and just keep running various programming timings and effects to find the effect I am looking for.

Practicing with an actual arch is an excellent way to go. The best arch effects comes with many channels. There is always a tradeoff.

While you are playing, don't forget to try to move the lights up to "clap" in the middle and fall back down. That is also a nice effect.

Most of my arch programming uses two or three commands on each segment. A ramp up, usually an on period, and a ramp down. I think one that looks good when sweeping through the arch is when the up and on are equal, and the down is about twice as long. Have each next segment start ramping up as the previous one goes on. If I am moving really fast, or want the section that is on to appear narrower, I will either cut the on section to half the time, or leave it out.