Light-O-Rama Forums

How any channels do people usually start with?

sjmiller

In 2008 I bought the GE Mr Christmas 6 channel controller, for years my static display has been the biggest in the neighborhood - 2008 topped that.

I have been reading the LOR site for a few years - and decided I wanted to do my own sequencing. I started out thinking 8 channels would work, half way through sequencing my first song - I decided I needed 16 channels...

I'm putting the finishing touches on my second song sequence - and now I'm thinking that I should start with either 24 or 32 channels.

I have purchased the starter pack, controller(s) are next...

How many channels did you start with?

SJ

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• sjmiller

• taybrynn

• JeffF

• John Hertig

I am just starting out too. I currently have a single 16-channel unit, mainly at the moment to help me learn the software, so I can operate some real lights. I would expect to add a further one or two 16-channel units for my first attempt. This will obviously depend on the number of lights I have available.

Regards,

Alan.

I started last year with 8 channels on Dec 27th. I got the 8 channel from my wife for Christmas with the starter kit. Although I received it on the 25th, my wife ordered one of the parts incorrectly. So, thanks LOR they shipped one out right away. When I set up on the 27th, it was a breeze. Now I had installed the trial 2 months prior and had been working on several sequences.

Over the coarse of the year I bought several 16 channel controllers and ended up with 72 total channels this year. Big jump from 8 to 72 channels. There was much more work with having 72 channels but was perfect for me.

I would say it is safe to say that 16-32 would be a good starting point. I think if someone started off with 72 or 80 channels there first year, it might be a bit much and may get frustrating/overwhelming.