Light-O-Rama Forums

SECOND CONTROLLER CONFIG PROBLEMS

Guest guest

I have a problem with the second controller (16 Channel) configuring. The LED is solid and when you search the system two controllers come back, they are number 1 and 2. Number 1 sets with the controller options, however controller two does not respond. I have changed the cable. double checked the power and the fuses, rebooted. I still am unable to get the second controller to respond? Any help??? Controllers are less than a month old and this is my first try with LOR so what am I doing wrong??

Hi Meaker:

Did you try just connecting the second controller, by itself to the serial port, and then testing it out with the hardware controller?

If that works, connect both together again, (keeping track of which jack is input, and which is output on the controller cards).

Then have the hardware controller search and find both units. Once it does highlight the one you wish to test and repeat the test.

Does that work for you?

Greg

If I connect just the second controller, it discovers the controller, but still does not communicate with the controller when you send the config information. I even tried to update the firmware last night, thinking it might have been corupt, but the problem is still there?

That sounds like a serial communication port problem. (There is a chip on the cards that processes serial port information).

I would suggest you drop Dan Baldwin an email note directly. he responds quickly, and always is helpful!

You can get his email address from his profile on the old forum, and perhaps here too. I have not had the time to explore this new forum much yet.

Greg

Hi,

A couple of questions all related to the Hardware Utility:

First make sure to set max units to 10 or a number just above the largest Unit ID used.

When you Refresh you see the Unit show up in the list, Correct?

When you Configure you get an error message.