Light-O-Rama Forums

Where would you start?

Holidaddict

I have decided to jump into the wild and crazy world of Light-O-Rama. Total newbie and totally not an electrician! I have perused the forums and am very overwhelmed. Would love some beginner suggestions around what to buy without spending my retirement savings (and then some). I decorate every year (mostly for halloween) and have a bunch of non-led string lights. I would love to slowly transfer to LED's and also have a lot of interest in smart Pixels. So if you were new, where would you start and what are your "must haves"? Also looking for any good YouTube lists and other retailers that sell useful decorating items (that LOR does not sell).  Thank y'all!!

• 4 weeks later...

Honestly I would start after Christmas but plan before what you want to do. Reason is that you can buy all your led lights for up to 50 percent off. Also recommend get the starter package with one controller to get use to programming before you go bigger. Go slow or you will get overwhelmed.

Traditional string lights (those that plug into the wall. plug has just fuses) need to run  on an AC controller like the CTB16.  If some of those strings are LED, you need a Gen 3  or you may need to build a 'snubber' to make the string g full dark.

Gen3 controller also has a ON/OFF light curve, which I found needed for mini-strobe strings or electronic plugs (Be very careful what you sequence for these. Fast changes way harm these)

(dumb) RGB or Smart are DC devices and need different controllers (and power supplies unless you get a ready-to-go package) Smart also requires a Faster network (the RED adapter) Channel counting becomes important to size (also, a PRO license is needed)

Hi Holidaddict,

Welcome to our addiction! 😁