Light-O-Rama Forums

LOR S5 control of Insteon?

CKSedg

Last year I found out that  LOR S5 does not support X10 devices, which changed my Insteon integration.  Does anyone have any ideas on how to control Insteon switches with LOR S5?  I want to have my regular porch lights and eave lights go off anytime my LOR lights go on.

I have a Universal-Devices ISY 994i which I can program, but how do I tell the ISY that the LOR lights are on?  Any ideas?  Anyone have experience with this?

Thanks!

Great idea that I hadn't thought about.

I just hope I can figure it out; I'm just learning the isy, and my old brain takes awhile to grasp new concepts. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, DevMike!

My solution is that the porch light is a channel on a LOR controller.  Bear in mind that I run a year round landscape lighting that are LOR controlled.  I just have the porch light on as part of the show.  For Christmas, I generally do have the porch light on, but I put a piece of cardboard in the light fixture so it illuminates the front porch, but is completely blocked to the street so it is not a bright light that is always on.  In this photo (taken during dusk) you can see the light fixture is illuminating the porch, but is not a bright spot towards the camera.

Porch_Light.jpg

k6ccc,

Thanks for your suggestion. I'm not sure I could get cord from a LOR controller to my porch lights, since there is brick. I don't want it exposed on the exterior, so I've got to come up with another solution. Thanks for your input!

Understand.  In my case I have an AC controller in my attic and just intercepted the existing house wiring to the front porch light.

I solved the problem of having my LOR lights control my porch lights.

LightoRama

1. I made a sequence that controls only one channel in it, in my case channel 2.1
  2. I put this sequence in every show I run, as a background sequence, so this channel will be on all the time any show is running.