Light-O-Rama Forums

Running Audio Cable Over Long Distance

Richard Hamilton

For one of my projects this year I need to run the output of the Show Director Controller audio over a substantial distance. I've got to get it from the controller to a PA system that is almost 300 feet away.

I'm not an expert in the audio area, but my general engineering gut feeling tells me that I'm not going to be able to run the output over that distance. A low level signal is probably not going to be driven that far and still have any decent audio quality without noise... assuming the signal even gets there at all !

Does anyone have suggestions for a wireless audio transmitter/receiver that isn't going to cost me an arm and a leg? Other ideas?

maybe have a radio close to the house (in the garage per se) that receives the signal from your transmitter and run speaker wire out to the PA after first going through an amplifier?

just a thought...never had the problem of distance since my front door is 15 feet to the curb

johnny christmas wrote:

maybe have a radio close to the house (in the garage per se) that receives the signal from your transmitter and run speaker wire out to the PA after first going through an amplifier?

just a thought...never had the problem of distance since my front door is 15 feet to the curb

Thanks for the reply. This is for a commercial installation and the client does not want to use FM Radio transmittion. I need to get the audio from the outside Show Director controller to an internal control room where the PA system amplifiers are located.

Bascially, I have been looking for a decent RF transmitter/receiver pair. My home experience with those types of audio/video transmitters is that the range and clarity is not good, so that is why I was wondering if anyone has had experience with a decent wireless audio setup.

Richard,

You might get away with this if you use shielded audio cable and a audio DA (distribution amplifier).