Light-O-Rama Forums
JESonger

Getting started with DMX in LOR

I have 3 RGB wash lights on the front of my house, each driven by DMX-RGB controllers & connected to wireless DMX receivers, paired to the transmitter on my DMX board.  For Christmas, I naturally want to integrate those into LOR.  Following this picture at LOR, I bought another USB485 adapter for a second, DMX network, and connected the DMX transmitter to it. I've confirmed in Windows Settings that both adapters have been assigned COM ports.

And that's where I'm stuck.  How do I configure the other adapter for DMX in LOR like in the picture?  I see the DMX tab in Network preferences, but no option to bind Universe 1 to COM4.

Also, I've added the correct DMX channels to my preview, so I have R1, G1, B1, R2, G2, B2, R3, G3, & B3 channels.  Am I stuck with with making green by On-ing that channel and Off-ing the other two, or can they be bound into one colorspace like LOR channels?

I am a newbie (2 years)....  But I have had a LOT of help on here, and figure if I can help someone else i will try.    Last year I ran everything on a LOR network.  This year I added DMX.  This sounds like what you are doing.  It also sounds like you are thinking how I thought in the beginning.  That I could run both LOR and DMX on the same "network cable"....  If not I apologize.  but anyway, I am running 2 parallel networks.  1 USB485 LOR and 1 "CAT5" DMX network off of the same laptop.  This is how I had to do it to run my LOR and DMX (alphapix) controllers in the same show/sequences.  Is this what you are trying to do?  Also, i configure my LOR network in the S5 Hardware Utility, and the DMX via the IP address of the DMX controller on the LAN network...  

• Like 1

I've got to run real quick, but these two screen shots should help.  In my case I am using E1.31 (DMX over Ethernet), but this should give you the ideas...

S5.1.2_NetworkPrefs-DMX.png