Light-O-Rama Forums

Combine CTB and LED Controllers?

mrpbjnance

Sorry if this is a duplicated question I searched and did not Find Anything.   I have been running 2 CTB16 controllers for a few years.   I want to add LED Lights and coordiante them with my show.. Is this Possbile?

I have a Mini Director now that runs my show.

I'm confused when you say LED lights. If you are putting in AC LED light strings, just plug them into your CTB controllers. If you mean RGB led lights like dumb RGB nodes or smart pixels that is a different question. Are you looking at adding a controller that is not a CTB? If so, which one?

Short answer is yes.  However depending on what you are adding, there can be a gotcha or two.  No problem with a CMB24D for dumb RGB.  If you go with large numbers of pixels, you could end up with a network speed issue.  If your existing CTB controllers are older Generation 1 or 2, they can't operate at anything faster than 115K speed and can't be on an Enhanced LOR network.  Conversely, if you have large number of pixels, you are pretty well guaranteed to need to operate at one of the faster speeds and Enhanced LOR networks.  Same issue BTW with your director.  Unless it's G3 version (3rd generation), it also can't operate at 500 or 1000K speed nor Enhanced LOR networking.

Also, if you adding a large number of pixels, you would need to upgrade your LOR license.

2 hours ago, MichRX7 said:

I'm confused when you say LED lights. If you are putting in AC LED light strings, just plug them into your CTB controllers. If you mean RGB led lights like dumb RGB nodes or smart pixels that is a different question. Are you looking at adding a controller that is not a CTB? If so, which one?

Sorry   Yes I mean the Inidivually Addressable LEDs.    I dont want to just get rid of my OLD controllers.  Was wondering if I could sync the 2

Just now, mrpbjnance said: