Light-O-Rama Forums

Getting confused as I think about S4 to S5 + pixel transition??

Donl1150

Ok I need some help.  I have been doing LOR for about 7 years and have gradually gone from one CTB16PC controller to four controllers, all the while simply using old fashioned strings of incandescents.  I have expanded my show from 2 songs to 7 songs and done most of the sequencing on my own.

Well, now we have moved from the open spaces of snowy northern Minnesota to the sunny gated communities of SW Florida.  Our home here is substantially smaller and I think I could do a nice show with 2 controllers and 32 channels of incandescents.  But I am thinking now might be the time to start the switch to pixels.  

Just need to know some of the basics.  Can I just buy a Plug-n-Show Pixel tree and use that controller on my network with one more controller to control 16 channels on the house?  I just downloaded S5 and my license supports v5.3.8 Standard.  I have never even looked at Super Star but have a feeling now might be the time to learn.  Is SuperStar an additional license fee beyond what I have now?  Do I need it to run the pixel tree?

Sorry for the probably simplistic questions but it is quite confusing for me.  Thanks in advance.

You will need a pro license if you want to run a pixel tree. as the controller will use 16 ID's just for the tree and a Standard license only supports 8 ID's. If you figure in your other four controllers then you are at 20 ID's. You will also need a high speed network so a Red USB485 adapter will be required.

Edited by Mr. P

It's really late to try to grasp S5, let alone pixels this year. I would put on a downsized version of your existing show, and plan on stepping it up next year. S5 is a steep learning curve, and pixels, even pre programmed, still need to be integrated into your setup.

2 hours ago, Donl1150 said: