Light-O-Rama Forums

LED lights

jmraider

I am finding out that I need to replace some of my LED C9 light sets that I have been using since about 2010.  Seems like there are a lot of websites that offer lights now.  Any recommendation.  I am looking for simple LED lights C-9 with a variety of single colors strands  (red, blue, green etc), that are somewhat bright that will last for another 10 years like my current sets. 

Thanks

It depends on what type you're looking for.   Replaceable L.E.D. bulbs like in the big box stores {Wal-Mart, Lowes, Home Depot, K-Mart, Sears, Target, At-Home: Formerly known as Garden Ridge, at least in my area.} or sealed {NON-Replaceable} L.E.D. strands which would cost quite a bit more and may/may not last any longer than the big box store brands, and these sealed strands are usually, in most cases, found only online.

All depends on what you're looking for, type, etc.  as well as cost.

Big box stores you may not find single color strands, usually either all blue, all white or multi-color.  You might luck out and find some single color strands of other colors, but in all my years of looking in the big box retail stores, it's very rare to find them.

Online Christmas Light sellers are where you would find strands of any single color you may want or need  Again, these will usually be sealed strands {bulbs are not replaceable} without cutting them out and splice a new bulb {pod} in, requires soldering skills, heat shrink and sealer to weatherproof the soldered connections if a bulb {pod} would need to be replaced in such a strand.  Also requires a strand that you would use to cut out a good pod and put in the bad pods spot in the strand.

Like stated, just depends on what you want to spend and whether you want easy pull out/push in a new L.E.D. bullb or have to exert a little more work in replacing a bad bulb in a strand.