Light-O-Rama Forums

Preview of Pixels problem

Nickw

Newbie here. I have LOR pixie 16 which I know can support 100 lights per channel. I have a window which is 200 lights. The strands come in 50's so I have 2 x 50 x 2 outputs, 4 strands in all. So 2 channels. In preview. I draw the window and put 60 pixels wide and 40 sides. I have selected unit ID to 20. It assigns the circuits. But HOW does it know that I am using 2 outputs? 

Do I need to be having 1 output per side of window, or as the unit is 200 lights in total, just use the 2 outputs? Thanks in advance.

A Pixie16 uses one ID per output so when you assigned the first output (20) the software automatically assigned the other outputs in hex order.

And just so you know, if you still have a basic license you will not be able to use a Pixie16 as Basic only allows two ID's where a Pixie16 will use 16 ID's. You will need to upgrade your license.

Edited by Mr. P

What my friend above said.

Let me add- you will need a pro license and to get more than 100 pixels per channel but not more than 172 you will need to set it up as a Pixcon16 - That is after you configure it in HU.

View my tutorial in the General Hardware section stickied up at the top.

All pixies work the same so song be to concerned with my video only being a pixie4

About the “how does it Know ports”.

You will have 16 lines (ports) in your sequence. Which ever lines you sequence to and connect your strings to are the ones that will get the data.

JR

Edited by dibblejr

Yes I have been upgraded to Pro now! I am using the TSO pre-sequences songs. LOR have provided me with the pre-assigned channels. But I have no way of knowing if the pre-programmed sequence matches up with the lights on the house......!

2 hours ago, Nickw said: