Light-O-Rama Forums

upgrading firmware on G3-MP3 Standalone director

TexasLights

It all started so simple, get a pixel tree when it was on sale.   Of course, i had the prerequisite hardware although my G3-MP3 was old but matched exactly what was on the doc.    As expected, I do need to update the firmware but that is where I am stuck.  I have the USB dongle, and i can connect and control all of the controller and the pixie8 using it.   However, in order to upgrade the firmware, it says to connect to the director.   If i just use the network cable from the dongle, it does not power up.  But i can get it power up by connecting it one of the controllers.  But I do not see it in the hardware utility.  if i do refresh, it doesn't show up.  I go to the firmware tab, select MP3 device, and try to update it and it doesn't find it which i more or less expected since it doesn't show up from refresh either.   

I suspect i am missing something?

Edited by TexasLights

Since I am new to the forum, would this be a question I should pose as a support ticket or do they reply here?

Taken from http://www1.lightorama.com/Documents/G3-MP3_Man_Web.pdf

Firmware Update: G3-MP3

This section describes how to update the G3-MP3

firmware for both the stand-alone unit and the unit

built into the LOR1602MP3g3.

You must have:

Hardware Utility version 2.3.4 or later, see the

section Hardware Utility Version

No SD card in the G3-MP3

G3-MP3 should be displaying the time

The G3-MP3 powered (see the Power Input

section) and connected to the PC via Net 1.

Use a USB or serial adapter to connect the

G3-MP3 to the PC. Do not use wireless.

Get the latest firmware. www.lightorama.com

Support Firmware. Note the name of the firmware

file, G3-MP3-Vn_mm (n_mm is the version number)

and save it on your PC in My Documents\Light-ORama\

Firmware.

Start the LightORama Control Panel if it is not

running by clicking start All Programs

LightORama Light-O-Rama Control Panel. The