Light-O-Rama Forums

Just wondering

~DOC~

Ok I am an engineer. So I am wondering why people have had so much trouble using top rail chain link fence rail to erect a 20 foot tree. I did the math it works. I like to see pictures of the aftermath, testimony etc. I know 10ft don’t move and have no issues. Doubling is the issue. I like facts. It’s my profession. Help me to understand. 

I am planning next years already.

Want me to send you the pictures of my bent poles. First year I tried it. Bent 2 times. Then went to black steel. Now that kept breaking at the threads at the joints of the 2 pools. Broke twice at the threads. This year I put a rod in where the joints meet. Once I get help to put it up. Then I will know if that fixed it. Using 1 inch pipe. 

This is what others have used. They used 1-1/4 pipe. I bought black pipe. So if the 1 inch doesnt work. Ready for next year. What I learned with the black pipe is. There is joint inside the metal. So, I had to file the inside to get my round stock inside the pipe.

https://christmaslightshow.com/products/pole-pin-12-for-mega-tree

There is a lot of weight, I have around 12,500 lights on my mt. Last year my 2 " thick splastic/ nylon hook head broke. Yes it was old, yes it is stored in a bard with heat but the sheer weight made it snap. I use a radio tower 24' from base to tip of star.

There are plenty of pictures and documents concerning the top rail.

My replacement hook head is now my wife's former $100 frying pan. My backup I purchased from a company was the wrong size. I should have checked the box when I purchased it several years ago for another tree.

JR

• Haha 1

5 hours ago, dibblejr said:

There is a lot of weight, I have around 12,500 lights on my mt. Last year my 2 " thick splastic/ nylon hook head broke. Yes it was old, yes it is stored in a bard with heat but the sheer weight made it snap. I use a radio tower 24' from base to tip of star.