Light-O-Rama Forums

How many feet of DIY extension cords did you make this year?

Speedster

Also how many feet of ext cords have you made including all prior years?

For our Christmas display I ended up making between 850 and 900 feet of ext cords for 5 new props (three 8-channel firesticks and two 8-channel leaping arches) and about a dozen other lights.

Since this is my first year making my own ext cords, I've made 850 - 900 feet total.  I used all store-bought ext cords in the previous years.

I still have 600+ feet of SPT1 wire and 15 male/female vampire plugs left over, so I'm thinking of using them up to replace several long ugly orange ext cords that stick out like a sore thumb during the day.

Edited by Speedster

I have over 9,500 feet. To simplify storage and use, I have most in groups of 8 ty-wrapped with a different color ty-wrap or series of ty-wraps to help identify. The Ty-wraps are about 3' apart. Specifically, made just over 1,200 feet this year. Most of my controllers are in a dedicated shed I made just behind my fence. I have a handful of controllers for smart pixels etc. adjacent the props

Edited by jwblazek
Clarification

My controllers are stashed throughout the yard (and there is a CMB24 on the chimney. I used a dedicated Antenna mount to keep it upright) . With the exception of the Maxi-Tree (12' tall) which has its own controller, there were always some props that did not have a port on a nearby controller. I made about 200' of new SPT1 cords. Bought a bunch more 3 and 4 core HC cords and a few 10W flood extensions (to cut and make  pigtails so all my CMB24s can have a couple of floods as whim determine).

The longest cord: 85' to reach the far side of the driveway without crossing it

I probably should have made this 2 questions with the 2nd question being Including previous years how many feet of DIY extension cords have you made?

27 minutes ago, Speedster said: