Light-O-Rama Forums

Newbie Needs Suggestions

hie2kolob

Hello!  I am just getting my feet wet with LOR but I have some experience with Arduino coding applications.

I just retired my 15 year old 4 strand Christmas light system that used a 4 channel digital special effects generator.   

I would like to start this year with:

- Installation of permanent LED addressable pixels mounted in a j-channel around the front and sides of my roof line.

Questions about a 12V system installed on the 340 foot roof line (see scanned image): 

How often do I need to insert power for voltage drop?

What controller should I use and how many will I need?  Best controller locations?

Are multiple power supplies needed?

Recommended LEDs?

LED spacing?  I don't see any spacing specs.

I am considering the 16 x 100 square pixels with controller package.  Will this cover 340 feet?

Thank you!

Roof Line.jpg

Just to get you thinking (I am also a Pixel novice)

Throw some 15' Arcs to find controller vs max string locations.  The main ridge is a bear @ 105', 2 controller locations to keep distance to first PX down (15' is my max to first px. at some longer  length, you need null pixels)

I happen to use HC bullets on ~4" spacing (~ 15' between #1 and #50). I mount those on Plastic  Plumbers tape at 3" centers so I lose length . 2 strings (100 nodes) on a leg,  no issues, but I would absolutely power inject between #100, #101-150 . (150 is just about max nodes on a Pixie port also).  So 45'' would be a max leg off the controller in my case (EST LOAD 9A. squares are a bit higher ).\