Light-O-Rama Forums

Super Newb Needs Suggestions

martsycart

Please bear in mind, I am VERY new to LOR so I apologize if any of my questions come off as extra dumb.

First, a little about me and my "vision"

- I am an IT professional, so I don't feel the LOR system is past my comprehension. 

- I formerly installed home theater systems, so I am familiar with wire runs, terminating ends and networking.

- The knowledge I feel I lack is based around the electrical component. I know the basics, such as not mixing different voltage equipment.

- I am wanting to place smart pixels in a j-channel to permanently install around my roof line (180').

- I will only be using LOR on the roof line this year. Don't want to get in over my head.

Here are my questions:

I am considering purchasing the 16x50 Square Pixel Package with Pixie16 Controller.

- The site doesn't really say how long a 50-count strand is. Would this package be enough to cover a 180' roof line?

- How (if possible) does one go about extending the strand from the controller to the start of the strand location? I assume there are extensions available, but do they connect into each other, or do they need to be manually coupled?

- What is the benefit of using a 12v system vs. a 5v system?

- What is the max distance the computer can be from the controller?

- What other items should I anticipate needing to purchase outside of the Pixel Package (other than more strands)?

1 hour ago, martsycart said:

- What is the benefit of using a 12v system vs. a 5v system?

When using pixels, the biggest advantage of 12V is the ability to go longer distance and a larger number of pixels without having to inject power.  Biggest advantage of 5V is reduced overall power consumption.

What is the max distance the computer can be from the controller?

LOR networking uses RS-485 for the communication.  The RS-485 spec allows 4,000 feet and 32 devices on the network.