Light-O-Rama Forums

Taking the Pixel Plunge ! Questions

captainron19

Hey guys well i finally decided to take the plunge into Pixels.   Just ordered my first setup.   Going with a 10' Pixel Tree and a Falcon Board.  800 Pixels .   So here are my questions..... (Please be kind as I am new to this LOL)  

1.  Plan on using Pixel Editor so basically I open up the LMS File that I want to incorporate Pixels in to directly in the PE Program correct? Or should I start with "New" - "Musical Sequence" even though my LMS file is already created ? Where I create a single prop (in this case Pixel Tree)  I assume I just have to create the prop once as it stays connected to the program itself.?

2.  Once done and i save the file I was told to "Save Intensity Data" and that will attach the pixel sequencing to my LMS file?   I did a test and noticed an additional line of data at the bottom when I opened the file in the SE so i assume i did something correct.

3.  If I wish to edit the file where I added the effects, do i simply just re-open the LMS file in the PE ?   I noticed it made a PE file also but not sure what purpose it serves.

4.  I run my show on my desktop PC and plan on doing a lot of programming on my laptop .   Both computers have the pro version installed so what steps do I need to do with both computers to assure they are setup the same way with regards to the PE?   Do i just create the same prop in both or can i export the prop and place it into the other computer.

Thanks in advance..... I am sure I will have a ton more questions when it comes time to hook things up to begin testing

3 minutes ago, dougd said:

Upgrade to S5 and do it all in one place?

Agree.  Much more seamless integration between the S5 Sequencer and Motion Effects (what used to be Pixel Editor).

Really?   Have not even looked in to the S5 version.   What does it offer?   Would my current LMS files be compatible with S5 to add pixel sequencing into them?