Light-O-Rama Forums

Singing Faces How to. What do i need?

Dkazm201

Hi all, Last year was the first time I Wired up my LOR setup I also  just bought my house in September so it was my first Christmas in the new house. I set the Bar high.  So i want to keep adding on every year. I Figured I would get a head start this year and start learning. I would love to do some Singing Trees or Light Bulbs this year, Making the physical Cutouts is no problem for me. My biggest question is about how to wire them. Do i just do another LOR 16 Channel plugs or DMX? I'm currently using a 16 Channel Setup on my house using LED light bulbs. I am a real noob with the additional Controllers and lights if someone can recommend what lights to use and why it would help me greatly. 

Thanks in advance Daniel

Here is a video showing how to build RGB singing trees. You can slao build them with regular led lights and the CTB16PC contoller.

• Like 1

Just depend on what you are looking for, what bulbs you want to use , controllers and how many channels you want to eat up.

Its much easier to just buy them especially when just starting out. 

I have 30+ singers and will be adding more. 1/2 are my own design but I do keep in the tradition of 8 channels per tree.

1- 16 channel CTB16 will control 2.

If you go out on your own with designing your own and do not want 5 mouth movements (more or less) you will to also learn how to sequence them.

I share about 95% of my face sequences.

JR

Edited by dibblejr

Marty Slack has a great how to on building coro projects at www.christmasutah.com 

I believe in simplicity in my singers.  Just two mouth positions open and closed.  The audience all gets it and programming is much simpler.   I'm adding light bulb backup singers.  Just plain ol' incans.  I use a variety of sets. 100's (often split into 50's, 35 sets, and 20 sets (from candy canes).  With a little planning, things can come out pretty even with few bulbs left over.

Edited by Brian Mitchell