Light-O-Rama Forums

Where to Start?

Judy

A true beginner here and first time in the forum. Just don't know where to start.

What comes first. Do you create the sequence on the computer then put up the lights or do the lights all have to be installed before creating the sequence?

Did you create a design of every string of lights first , then sequence building second?
Any advice is sure appreciated. Thank you
Judy

Judy -

You need to start by figuring out where all of your lights are going to go. Roof outlines, trees, windows, doors, porches, fences, everything. Once you have that all laid out and committed to paper (or computer) then you can start building sequences, using the layout that you have drawn. Remember that if you will have a (for example) tree that has 2 or 3 or 4 different color strings of lights on in, you will want to account for 4 channels, so that you will be able to turn each color on individually.

Hope this helps to get you started.

D.T.

Hi Judy, I'm sort of in the same boat as you. The first thing I did was to try and remember all of the christmas decorations that I have from last year. Luckily, I take pictures every year so that wasn't too tough.

Then I did pretty much what D.T. suggested by plotting everything out using a computer program so that I could experiment with what I wanted prior to digging everything out of the attic.

The biggest hurdle for me was learning to ues the LOR software. Once you figure out what you are doing with that, the rest is just running the extension cords and powering up the lights, depending on your setup.

I haven't received my kits yet so I still have a long way to go but I do have some sequences done for when I get them!

Steve

Thanks Dave. Once I draw the lay out - then I would have to assign the number of strings to each item, ie: tree, arch and figure the exact number of lights on each string I guess?
From what I've read, a mega tree that is 20 feet high will take an entire controller?