Light-O-Rama Forums

Another Newbie Starting Out

newbie_Christmas display

Hello everybody. Im just starting out. Looking for guidance and help before i start forking out the big dollars. 

My current setup is like all my neighbours with strings of LED's everywhere. I am somewhat limited on front yard space. I have been watching Bruce's video ( about 100 times now ) on how to build his mega tree. I do have room at the side of my home for such. I have prematurely purchased the Star Wars March and music medley as i am a big Star Wars fan.

I am hoping for a simple setup:

1. The mega tree ( hopefully not biting off more than i chew )

2. 4/5 floods

3. i have also pre-ordered a train frame that i will need to wire with lights ( POLAR EXPRESS FAN -:) ).

The questions:

what package from LOR should i begin with

should i purchase the PRO level right away

can i use the RGB's inconjunction with LED strings or do i need replace everything with RGB's or the PIXELS down the road?

Thanking you in advance.

Matthew

1- Mega Tree - RGB or Mini LED?

2- RGB or LED?

3- Easy enough

The answers to those questions will determine what controllers you will need to purchase.

AC controllers for non RGB lights or Pixel controllers for the RGB or both.

Level is up to you but each level let’s you control a different amount of controllers. If you start out with pro there is no worries there 

You can use in conjunction but the are different types of controllers

Almost all of us that use RGB also has regular ac lights as well. - Note I said almost

A lot of folks will

tell you how to spend your money, just get what you can afford.

JR

1. mega tree - rgb smart/intelligent pixels this

You can have any combination of LED's, AC lights, Dumb RGB, Smart RGB in your display;  you just need the relevant controller for each type. Though less different types of lights = less different controllers = less headaches. :)

11 hours ago, OzAz said: