Light-O-Rama Forums

Vocal vs. Instrumental?

MphsGal

Total newbie question: 

I’m wondering about setting a show to songs with vocals versus strictly instrumental. Has anyone found the vocals to distract from the light show? Since I haven’t done any of this yet, I’m also thinking it might be easier to program just instrumental. It seems to be easier to hear the music without the vocals. 

Thanks.

I haven't done any of it either because I'm considering purchasing this year. Just need to decide exactly WHAT and from WHERE. Is there a way to slow it down and isolate different tracks? That would make it easier. It's been ages since music theory but learning a musical score at half time and then speeding it up to fill tempo after you've learned it is easier.

• Thanks 1

I have both in my show.  I don’t think the voices detract from the lights.  In fact some of the songs would be pretty dull without them.  If my paste attempt works, this is my 2017 playlist:

Song title   Artist   
  Wizards In Winter   Trans Siberian Orchestra   Minor re-write
  Christmas Cannon   Trans Siberian Orchestra   Minor re-write
  You're a Mean one Mr. Grinch   Burl Ives   Minor re-write
  Jingle Bells   Barry Manilow with Expose'   Minor re-write
  Hark! The Harold Angles Sing   Lake Ave. Church Organ & Orchestra     Minor re-write  
  God Bless the USA   The American Patriots   Minor re-write
  Deck the Halls   Mannheim Steamroller   Minor re-write
  Carol of the Bells
  (Christmas Eve / Sarajeva 12/24)  
  Trans Siberian Orchestra   Minor re-write
  Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer   Gene Autry   Minor re-write
  All I Want for Christmas is You   Mariah carey   Added 12/24/17
  Feliz Navidad   Jose Feliciano   Minor re-write
  The Hanukkah Song   Elliot Dvorin   New for 2017
  Soldier's Silent Night   Father Ted Berndt   Major re-write

• Like 1