Light-O-Rama Forums

What do I need to start?

racerc20

Ok im preparing for next year... 

My current setup is 4 lor 16 channel controllers.  A LOR CMB24D RGB flood kit.  And a second CMB24D that I built to run strips.  I also presently run a mini director and Fm xmtr but i have a G3 show controller also.

I want to buy 8 to 12 Bosco Hex Trees and add Smart RGB to my show.  Each tree takes 20 smart pixels.  Can somene point me in the right direction with regards to what controller?  What protocol? Power supply size?  Will power injection be necessary?  And so on?  No rush as this will be a project for next year.

Thanks in advance 

Carl

I'll be following along for replies also.

i have a pixie4 and a pixie 16. I thought about a 24 but it seems like it's better to go smaller to cover geographic zones and run cat5 between controllers then lots of wires to each section of yard, unless doing a huge mega tree or something.

i'm a rookie though, put more weight on other responses.

5 minutes ago, hoosierdoc said:

I'll be following along for replies also.

i have a pixie4 and a pixie 16. I thought about a 24 but it seems like it's better to go smaller to cover geographic zones and run cat5 between controllers then lots of wires to each section of yard, unless doing a huge mega tree or something.

i'm a rookie though, put more weight on other responses.

What do you mean by a 24? There are no 24 port smart controllers. If you are talking about the CMB24D it is a dumb controller and actually runs eight ribbons/strings.