Light-O-Rama Forums

Trouble with multiple controllers

Timbre

So this is my first year. I had two controllers set up and the show running eariler today. They were id 1 and id 2.

Tonight I added a third controller. I made sure before I put it in the system that I set it's id to 3

When I plugged it in the system and tried to detect it.. At first it came up as only finding 2 out of the three controllers but was listing one as a 8 channel instead of 16. When I ran a light test controller 1 and 3 seems to be linked and the same channel on each was lighting.

So I unplugged controller 3 and tried to get 1 and 2 to link back up. They just sit there with flashing lights. No matter what I try they won't connect now. 

Is there a specific order that the controllers need to be linked in? Is there a way to reset the other two controllers? Is there a way that the new #3 is somehow set to not allow any others to be connected? This is really frustrating tonight.

thanks in advance for help

The controllers can be linked in any order, they don' t need to be sequential. 

I would test each controller individually on its own, use a cable you know works and test one at a time, no others hooked up.  Confirm the hardware utility can find them and confirm the unit number on each when its found.  this will do 2 things

- check each controller and rule out an issue

- if each controller works on its own its very possible a cable issue

Edited by sticks4legs

So I have checked controller 1 and 2 so far. Controller 1 has one bad port so it will have to go at the end of the daisy chain. Controlelr 2 both ports are good. Now my issue is controller #3. it's a blue board and now it doesn't want to power on. I've got power to the board and both fuses are good.

I have to figure out a way to check my cables. I can't find my cable tester. Might just cut off the ends and crimp new ones on