Light-O-Rama Forums

Some audio files are garbled and unusable

Gr8grahams

This is my first year running a musical show. A very simple 16ch system with an fm transmitter. Playing the show from my laptop to the controller. The music files I am using were recorded in Audacity and saved as .mp3 at constant bitrate and 128k. When I was sequencing the songs the music was fine. When a certain few files run in a show the audio is garbled and unusable. The sequence seems to be controlling accurately but sound is bad. This has happened to only a few of the files, the others seem fine even tho they were recorded and saved in the same way. Also, when I re-open the SE and play back the files that did not play well, the sound is good but when those certain files run in a show it all goes bad. 

In  my troubleshooting I have tried going back to audacity and re-exporting the mp3 to a different file name. Then assigning that new media file to the sequence and re-saving the sequence as a different name. When the new sequence is played in the show the problem persists.

Any other ideas or suggestions? My next guess is a windows media player problem.

Thanks for any input

Shawn

Shawn,

Sounds like some of the MP3 files may be recorded at a very high volume level. They sound good in the se but not good when you transmit them to the radio.

A lot of folks on here use a free program called MP3 Gain. It is a great volume leveling proggy. You can use it in batch mode also. That is my first guess at your problem.

The next thing would be to re rip the songs if you ripped them. If you purchased them see if you can down load them again.

Hope this helps you out. Also make sure the volume level on your laptop is not set too high. That would over drive your transmitter.

Edited by Joe Polenchar