Light-O-Rama Forums

Shortening LED light strands

vanc_trough

Hello all, 

I recently made a post asking some general LOR questions. I wanted to make a follow-up post because I couldn't really find an answer using the search function. Since i'm just getting into LOR, I am starting VERY small this year and only going to use LOR for a Holiday Coro Singing Christmas Tree (1 tree) (http://www.holidaycoro.com/Singing-Christmas-Trees-p/100.htm). 

On the website, it lists all of the lights needed for 1 tree. My question is, a lot of the requirements are for really odd numbers of lights. How exactly do I do create a strand of 82 lights? Would I just buy a strand of 100 and just bundle 18 of the lights behind the display?

Thanks.  

Shortening led strings is too much of a hassel as there is a lot involved, much easier to just get some blackout caps. I usually just wrap them up and stick them inside a black garbage bag so the light doesn't leak out.

11 minutes ago, Ebuechner said:

Yes. 

Just now, Mr. P said:

Shortening led strings is too much of a hassel as there is a lot involved, much easier to just get some blackout caps. I usually just wrap them up and stick them inside a black garbage bag so the light doesn't leak out.

Thank you both very much!

I have been able to cut some strings in half. I find the place where there are only 2 wires between the lights and I cut them. I have been able to make 2 strings and they still work, dim and fade. If there is not a place that only has 2 wires, you can't cut the string in half.

1 hour ago, yostmatt said:

If you shorten them, wont they be brighter since the current isn't spread as far?

This is true for incandescents, but not for LEDs.  As Mr. P stated, there's a lot more involved with modifying LED strings.

It should also be noted that it fries incandescents pretty quickly when you run more voltage through the bulb's filament than it was designed to handle.

• Thanks 1