Light-O-Rama Forums

COM / Port / 8002 Error

jroot

I'm a current LOR hobbyist running 80 channels for Christmas and around 40 for Halloween. Starting with RGB this year. To start, I wanted to connect my RGB Floods (8 units @ 10 watts). I have the new usb connector (RS-485, red one) and I installed the software from the CD included as well as downloaded from the website. Yet, I'm unable to successfully connect my new USB connector. I receive a COM and/or 8002 error the minute I open the hardware or attempt to refresh. Yet, I can go back to the current USB (black one) and the port works fine, no errors and I can refresh. This seems like a common issue and I've read several threads but none of the advice I've found seems to help. I've rebooted several times. I've tried it with only 1 unit connected via the Cat 5 (the error appears before I could attempt to connect that 1 unit anyway).

I'm curious to know from someone that added RBG to their existing show if they had similar issues. Is the issue the com I'm attempting to use is "dedicated" to the older, black USB connector? I did try other ports without success.

Note, I'm using a laptop that ~ 5 years old with Windows 7. I've used it to run my show for several years. My current version of windows is expired but I've never needed to upgrade it to run the show. I'm curious if this is interfering with the new drivers that I need for the RGB connection. But, if so: why does the old, non RGB setup run fine? And why do I not get driver errors, just com/port errors? I'm hesitant to pay $100 for Windows if its not going to help.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Jason

18 minutes ago, jroot said: