Light-O-Rama Forums

Brand Spanking New

Movnfr8t

I'm brand new to this whole idea of decorating for Christmas.  We've seen different homes around our little town that have these cool displays.  I'm not sure where to start, what to ask or how much we can spend.  I've looked at numerous controllers and ideas.  Would like to test the waters and get this figured out.  Where would be a good place to start with any of this???

Thanks in advance!

Start with a lot of reading on the forms.  At the top of the forum, is a link for FAQ's - ** LOOK HRE**.  Watch the video tutorials will help learn.  You can also download the play with the software - can't control the controllers without buying it however.  Ask questions.  Many people really will help, but please at least attempt to find the answer before asking.

IMHO the simplest is just controlling what you have. Basic (no color changing/blink) , static plugin lights

The basic AC (PC16)  starter package gets you almost everything you need (You do need a Windows Computer, and a long CAT5 cable to reach from the computer to the controller) for 16 circuits

Welcome.  As noted above the tutorials are a good place to start.

I wanted to add too that most who are here are busy setting their displays up.  If you don't get answers right away don't get discouraged. It's the busy time of the year.  Merry Christmas.

If I was you I would start by asking those people with the “cool displays”. I never had that opportunity.

Welcome to the addiction, it can get out of control fast.

JR

9 hours ago, Movnfr8t said:

I'm brand new to this whole idea of decorating for Christmas.  We've seen different homes around our little town that have these cool displays.  I'm not sure where to start, what to ask or how much we can spend.