Light-O-Rama Forums

My RDS Experiment

Steven

I want to add RDS to my FM transmitter this year (assuming support will be added to LOR2!).

First, before I get into the details, one may ask why go to the trouble of RDS on a Christmas light display? After all, I want my visitors to look at my lights, not at their dashboard to see the name of the song. Not only that, but many of my songs are popular Christmas tunes, and everyone already knows the name!

The answer is that this is just another toy for me ;). And who knows, maybe I'll learn something!

I ordered a Pira32 RDS encoder kit, and had my first experience with soldering surface mount devices. It's not pretty, but I'll put some pictures up here later. I studied the schematic and found that the encoder has two power voltages on the board, 5 volts for the digital portion, and 8-20 volts for the analog (signal) section. I could have build the board as specified, but then I'd have to find yet another wall-wart power supply. Instead, I realized that I have a perfectly good 5 and 12-volt power supply in my computer, which of course will be on all the time I'm transmitting, so I didn't solder the 5-volt regulator, but hooked it up to a "disk drive" style power connector.

The good news is the RDS encoder seems to work. I hooked it up to the transmitter by finding where the multiplex-encoded audio came out of one of the chips, and cut into the line at that point.

(Actually, I bought a second transmitter to do this. I didn't want to risk not having a working transmitter if something went wrong. I also know that the Ramsey transmitters are susceptible to electrostatic discharge damage from their antenna lead, and I wanted to have a backup just in case.)

The result was somewhat disappointing. The encoder introduced noise, and it had trouble locking into the 19kHz pilot tone. I couldn't even see the waveform on my oscilloscope (which I rarely have a chance to use).