Light-O-Rama Forums

What would you do?

Randy H

As a newbie, I post, seeking the wisdom of the forum. What would you do? This is my situation… I have downloaded the free demo version software and worked with it to get the “feel” of sequencing, animation and some of the other features. I was so exited to jump in and start my first display when…I was informed we aren’t going to be home this Christmas!?*^&(*! (Going to relatives) O well, that just gives me an extra 12 months to plan. So now my burning question. Can I continue to sequence my music with the demo software and when I’m ready (waiting for sales) purchase the LOR II software, controls etc. and import my sequence from the demo version to the new software? Or should I go ahead and get the software now? Considering I have 20 months to get ready. Thanks!

I'm also a newbie ... but was in your same situation just a few months back.

It depends how financially committed you want to become ... and when. But the short answer is YES -- go to S2 now !!

I would personally buy the starter kit, ask (LOR in notes section of order) for them to defer the freebies till you order your controller(s) ... and then get an official copy of LOR I. Then get your free upgrade to S2 (LOR II) downloaded and installed.

I think S2 is WELL worth using "now" and don't know why anyone new to LOR would stay with LOR I unless it was just to save money and defer the purchase till a later time, which I could understand.

The S2 animation window is a lot better, IMHO ... and I also find the Beat Wizard and VU Wizard useful ... or at least useful in providing alternatives to the tapper. Also, the ability to use tracks (for various timings) is pretty huge and the sooner you get used to having these options, the more tools you'll have at your disposal now for createing great sequences.