Light-O-Rama Forums

CUtting RGB Strips

dan24438

Ok so before i start, if this is a dumb question please be gentle in your response. This is my first year using smart RGB strips so they are new to me.

I purchased several 2811 60 led/60 ic strips from Holidycoro, cut them to the desired length (170 leds), made my leaping arches and everything is perfect. I got to thinking and thought id love to use the left over strips and start converting some of my typical led lights to rgb's. This is where I am struggling. The strips came with connectors at both ends so I figured if I cut the connectors off of the other end I would be able to just connect them like I did the other end. When I do this I can not get even a flicker out of the light. Trying to trouble shoot the issue I thought, well maybe, the strips only take current from one end. So I found the solder points and I soldered on three wires (making sure none of my solder touched the other points). I connected the strips to my pixcon 16 and nothing. I tried using the onboard test mode as well as a test sequence I created in ss.

I did this for four pieces I had left over all with the same results. So I figured well maybe I blew a fuse on the pixcon and it wasn't working correctly. I pulled out one of my new leaping arches and used the same plug and it worked exactly like it was suppose to.

Anyone have any suggestions on what I am doing wrong?