Light-O-Rama Forums

Ive just about had it with LOR / DMX

Laser Voodoo

As it be known that i am an accomplished stage concert lighting designer for 30 + years . I designed and and worked with some of the largest in music entertainment from Black eye peas to metallica and slayer to greatful dead and i am a custom laser show designer as well . Ive controlled lighting for huge arenas and events of up to 200,000 people. 

(My project):

I put up a 50 foot tree in my home town at city hall and snow machines all the way up and down the street on top of light posts and city buildings and is kind of a big deal here. all i am asking is that i can control the tree (regular xmas lights in 16 channels ) and 4 channels of dmx on a IDMX1000 for snow machines . you would think it would be simple. Boy was i wrong ....... LOR is by far the most difficult control that i have ever used in my life !!! I have been struggling to get the dmx up and running for weeks  . i am truely frustrated.

Turns out that the IDMX1000 interface that i got was defective. i sent it back and got a new one . Well I am still struggling to get it working!!!!! It now works on my utility but does not work on the sequence editor. You would think for the price of all this this stuff that it would be easy to run. If i cant do it , how is the newbies suppost to grasp it? Ive watched the youtubes and read the forums and used a bad ass hotrod of a computer even. in fact ive tried it on a couple computers now.

What am i doing wrong in the SE where its not working ? any ideas anyone ? 

I have to ask you since LOR does not have support even this close to xmas . 

Sounds like maybe the channels weren't configured properly. How did you add the channels into SE?

If you go into SE and right click on your very last channel, then click on "insert Device" then "Insert Device Below" a popup opens then in devices choose IDMX1000 , insert the unit ID and click ok and SE will add the channels and configure them.