Light-O-Rama Forums

Shows in the rain

lstewartff

As this is my first year using LOR and I am always worrying something is going to go wrong. I am wondering if doing a show in the rain will mess anything up when water gets into the plugs? It is raining here and if there is a chance that water in the connections will short something out I would rather shut it down for tonight. Thanks

Many people here run Rain or shine, moonshine that is. There are a few things to make note of though.

Keep the connections off the ground. Clean water is not bad but dirty muddy water is much worse. Don't tape them up, just traps dirt and water in. 

Some  people use child proof caps on the ends but I don't

Use a GFI to protect yourself and your guests in case something shorts to ground.

If your GFI trips in a monsoon, that may be the signal to call it a night.

I have been running 8 years and not shorted anything out yet.(Knocks on Wood) My tomato cage mini trees do sometimes trip the GFI in very wet conditions.

• Like 2

15 minutes ago, PhilMassey said:

Many people here run Rain or shine, moonshine that is. There are a few things to make note of though.

Keep the connections off the ground. Clean water is not bad but dirty muddy water is much worse. Don't tape them up, just traps dirt and water in. 

Some  people use child proof caps on the ends but I don't

Use a GFI to protect yourself and your guests in case something shorts to ground.

If your GFI trips in a monsoon, that may be the signal to call it a night.

I have been running 8 years and not shorted anything out yet.(Knocks on Wood) My tomato cage mini trees do sometimes trip the GFI in very wet conditions.

Words to live by

• Like 1