Light-O-Rama Forums

How Long Have You Been Decorating?

Guest Guest

Guest wbottomley

I've been decorating since the late 80's to early 90's.

My question... how long have you been decorating?

These are some pictures I found back in the day of 1993...

1993Picture3.jpg

1993Picture2.jpg

1993Picture1.jpg

Newspaper article of the neighbor's too

NewspaperArticle1.jpg

I know there's more but can't find them at the moment.

I have been decorating for about 18 years. Most of that time it was a static display. In 2000 I started using a PLC to control my mini-mega tree. In 2003 the PLC was replaced with custom built controllers. In 2006 that was all replaced with Light-O-Rama.

tom.

How far back, with lights... lets see. When I was about 10, I cut the letters N-O-E-L out of masonite & mounted them on two dowels, painted 'em red and fastened multicolored C7's behind, then, hehe, formed a back from crinkled aluminum foil to reflect all the colors. It graced the picture window for a couple of years.

So, if childhood counts, 41 years. Serious outdoor decorating, first year.

I started in 1996 with 2 sets of Icicles and 3 sets 100 ct Multi coloured lights that I bought during a trip to the USA. It was rare to see an outside display in the UK then.

I didnt realise back then how addictive this would be. :D :D

Linda

I started in 1995 with my first house. Built my own controllers in 2002, moved to LOR in 2006. Just bought 32 more channels at the sale. Now I have 88 channels of LOR and 24 channels I/O and growing.

I dont really rember and I am only 16 yrs old but i think it started when I was about 6 or 7 and me and my Dad put one string of lights around the door and not know to him he is the reason for my christmas light obbsesion and it gets bigger and bigger every year. With an LOR controller bought in 2005 and then a second one in 2006 that I put together myself