Light-O-Rama Forums

Trying to understand......

zman

First off I am new to DMX, and trying to figure out why what is happening is happening.

Setup - IDMX controller at E0, one 6 channel colorwash, one 2 channel zap strobe. The wash is set to unit ID 1 on the dip switches and the zap is unit ID 2. Using LORII.

WIth just the wash on the IDMX, it behaves as it should. Primarily, channels 2-4 are R-G-B repectively.

With Just the zap connected to the IDMX, Channels 2&3 operate the strobe (why not 1&2?) When I put the 2 together, channels 2&3 are operating both lights. So I attempted to reset the zap to 7 figuring that the wash was 6 channel, well then I could not find out how to get it to strobe. Then a few other combinations looking at the IDMX manual.

Next I try to put the yoke light in line. Ultimately the display will have 2 zap strobes slaved together, 2 yokes slaved together, and 12 colorwashes with the odd numbers slaved together, and the evens slaved together. Then I have to figure out taking all this into the Sequence Editor.

My head is spinning, it's late, can anyone point me in the right direction.

I have not used LOR dmx, but will give you a start.

The traditional DMX console assumes 16 channels of dmx control for each fixture. So fixture 1 has an address of 1, fixture 2 has an address of 17, 3 at 33 and so on. The console has sliders for each channel that are used to assign a value for that channel. So, fixture one addressed as 1, will have 16 sliders to manipulate that fixture. The sliders adjust channels 1-16. A fixture addressed as 17 will have sliders that operate channels 17-32 and so on up to 256 channels (512 in advanced applications).