Light-O-Rama Forums

12 ribbon ccr tree and understanding multi networks

4hoogies

Hello all,

I have been running a standard 7 LOR controller light show for the last 5 years. Two years ago I purchased 12 ccr's, the G3-mp3 director and a super speed 500 usb adapter.  CCR tree is in the works (yes, I realize I am behind in the game), and this year purchased and waiting for the delivery of the 16 pixel strings with Pixie16 and the pixel tree kit with the pixie8 controller. I understand the regular LOR controllers can handle a shared network with 6 ccr ribbons and the other 6 ccr ribbons on another network.  RGB is new to me as this will be the first year to actually try and get the 12 ccr tree up (yes, very sad holding these items for 2 years before using.)

1.  Based on what I have above with my new order, how many networks will I need? Can I get away with only 2 networks? If I need a 3 network, will the pixie16 and pixie8 controller handle being on the same network (#3)?

2. Can the G3-MP3 controller handle more than 2 networks? 

3. If you use more than 2 networks through your computer, am I correct in assuming you will need a usb 485 (500speed) adapter for each network if RGB are being used?

4. I am using 1/2" conduit pipe for the 12-CCR tree (2 -10' poles connected together not built yet ). But haven't quite figured out how to keep it standing? I have a stucco house with a tile roof which makes it very difficult to attach anything to the house. For storage purposes, I don't have any big bases like I have seen in some of your pictures. Do some of you use 3-4 guide wires stuck in the ground if it is not attached to your house or hanging from the rafters?

5. I have noticed many different ways to attach your ccr's to your poles. Do you line up the first ccr of each strip at the bottom? Some have them angled at the top in an upside down "V" under the two tips of your star? or does it even matter if the pixels line up?