Light-O-Rama Forums

Introduction and quick question

WildWeasel

Hello all! I am new to the whole holiday light show and LoR hobby. My wife is the curator of a local museum and I'm "volunteering" my technical skills (I am an IT technician for a local school district) to create a holiday light show. Her boss is a very competitive person and she wants to one up the county courthouse here in town with their basic LoR show. 

So I've been doing my research and planning for the past month (I wish they would have told me about this during the summer...) and I'm getting a shopping list of the components I want to use. This leads me to my question: 

What is the range the LOR1602 Pro AC Light Controllers between each? I understand it is transmitted over Ethernet cables (Cat6 in our case), so what is the reliable maximum distance between controllers? I've poured over the LoR web site and have yet to come across that number. 

Thanks for any input!! 

WildWeasel

Edited by WildWeasel

LOR runs on the RS485 protocol. You have a distance of 4000 feet that is available.

If you have any networking (Cisco, TCP/IP, routing/switching) background, be sure to remember that the controllers are simply using the network cables to make the connection. When you are connecting this to one of the USB485 adapters, you are NOT dealing with TCP/IP, but RS485 protocol.

16 minutes ago, WildWeasel said:

I understand it is transmitted over Ethernet cables (Cat6 in our case), so what is the reliable maximum distance between controllers?

A long, long way. So fr that you don't have to worry about the maximum range, unless your controllers are placed over a kilometre apart.

Welcome Wild Weasel !    Ut oh.. you have thrown down a challenge.   You may have opened the flood gates.   What is your budget range? 

Edited by ItsMeBobO

6 hours ago, Don said:

LOR runs on the RS485 protocol. You have a distance of 4000 feet that is available.