Light-O-Rama Forums

RGB ribbons

primvip

I Ann looking to get into RGB for next season. My question is how do most of users attach the strips to your house and windows? Also, if you do a window from do the ribbons make 90 degree bends easily? 

Lastly, can you cut the ribbons to length then how do you link ribbons together. 

Thanks for any feedback. 

I personally buy rolled steel square tubs and a friend of mine welds eye hooks to them and I have hooks under the eves.  All the house strips go up in an hour or two.  I don't do windows but I do around the garage door and for the corners I end it and put water proof connector when I put it together I plug it in.   I leave enough so I can sorta overlap.  I do this so it can come apart and be stored easily.   I use EMT for my garage doors.  PVC would work fine as well but I wanted something a little more rigid and the price wasn't much more.. They do sell 90 degree elbows for strips but I have never used them before.  Hopefully someone can chime in on that.  

For strips I use 2811 strips and they can be cut at each solder joint so about ever 2-3 inches.  Most even have scissor marks.  

I use Vinyl "F" and "J" Channel for mine. (These are generally used for edges for siding)  Then I use shingle hooks to attach them to my roof peaks.  I also slide them under my eaves as well.  The eaves stay up all year for accent lighting for the different holidays through out the year.  My pics are a little hard to see, but around the 7:08 mark in the video I show how I do it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5i2F72IyBY

Strip-Light-2.jpgStrip-Light-3.jpg

You can cut the ribbons to length.  They have little marks where you can cut them, usually every 3 lights.  They don't make a 90 degree bend so you will have to cut at that point.  They do make 90 degree connectors to make it easy, but in my opinion it's best that you solder a wire on the corners instead.  This make a much better connection with less chance of light failure.