Light-O-Rama Forums

Noob question: Turn on lights automatically?

Larry T.

I recently bought a 16-channel controller and have been experimenting/learning.

Is it possible to do this:

- When the computer is turned off
- If I plug the controller into a power outlet.
- Can it turn on all channels, so all lights come on automatically?

- Then, when I do turn on the computer and run the show, it will run the show (override the auto-start) ?

Edited by Larry T.

I'm only a second year noob but what I did last year was created a static show that turned everything on before the actual show and for short intermissions between shows and then after the show. Downside is that the computer has to be left on.

Z

Leaving all the controllers, transmitter, and computer plugged in 24/7x 40 days has worked out great for my display. 

The CTB16PC controllers do not have a stand-alone capability.

The 1602 controllers do have stand-alone abilities, meaning you would not need a computer to run an animation sequence. However, they could NOT be overridden by the show coming from the computer. You would have conflicting commands going to the controller, thus unpredictable results.

I'm only in my second year of LOR. Your problem is one of the good things about purchasing Showtime Central. I put Controller number 1 on a timer, and my lights come on when it gets dark and go off about 4 or 5 hours later. Pretty simple.

3 hours ago, Larry T. said:

I recently bought a 16-channel controller and have been experimenting/learning.

Is it possible to do this:

- When the computer is turned off
- If I plug the controller into a power outlet.
- Can it turn on all channels, so all lights come on automatically?

- Then, when I do turn on the computer and run the show, it will run the show (override the auto-start) ?