Light-O-Rama Forums

What to start with (buying the hardware)?

Philzy

Hi, so I am brand new to this, I have been doing Christmas lights for years and years now but never done them to lights. I have never done them to music and now am going to step in to the big boy game and do it. So my question for everyone that is willing to help me is this.  What do I need to (should I) buy for my first year to start off.  I am thinking that I will get two of the  PC-CTB16PC-COMPLETEtrans_1x1.gifcontrolers that would give me 32 channels to start with, I only have multi colored lights that I will be using for the first few years.  I think it will be a few years before I get into the RGB stuff.  So I was also thinking of getting the generic starter pack with the Advanced software license does that seem right?  And then is the usb485 good enough or do I need the booster or High speed connector or should I save my money?  I am also going to get an FM transmitter.  With all that said am I better off going with the usb485 or going with the showtime central or the mini director?  I don't really want to spend a lot of money this year but also want to start it off right and be able to build off of it in the years to come and don't want to buy something this year that I am just going to end up not using in a few years.  Thank you in advanced to any one that will help lead me in the right starting box. Oh and if there are any other thoughts that you may have to help me pick my hardware I would love that too, once I know what I end up buying then I will step into the real fun of making the sequences.

Edited by Philzy

2015 was my first year.  I bought the Showtime Central Starter Package with Basic Plus license during the spring sale and it came with the sd card then came the summer sale and i added another 16 channel controller.  32 channels the first year worked out great for me.  I used it for both Halloween and Xmas.

This year i'm adding RGB pixels.

Edited by gorichgo