Light-O-Rama Forums

ozarkboy2

Hello all!
I'm in my 3rd year using LightORama controllers, and program.

We're up to 4 controllers now, and 10k to 12k lights, and mostly led's.

We made and used our first spiral tree last Christmas season, and we really liked what we made. Even though we only had 4 channels that were free.

For this 2016 Christmas season we've already bought 2 more LOR Controllers, and they are both for the Spiral tree. We're going to use 4 different colors. I'm really having a problem using the LOR Visualizer and trying to draw out a decent 32 channel tree.

I'm really hoping that some of you with way more experience than I could give a hand.

I'm glad I found this forum, I'm really wanting to take our show up to another level.

Thanks in advance.

Bob

Bob:

Welcome to the forums. I am a second year newbie and probably won't be much help, all I can do is share what I did. There are resources online that enable you to insert a weber tree into LOR, I personally didn't have much luck with that. I ended up assembling my spiral tree in the workshop and connecting it to my controller. Then after assigning channels to it I created a dummy animation sequence to make different effects that I could just copy and paste into real sequences.  I'm certain there are many better ways to do it but this worked for me.

Z

There is a Weber Tree prop to use out there.  Search the forum and you will be able to download it. The second part is how you set up your tree. With the 32 channels and 4 colors, I would look at having two colors alternate going clockwise and two colors alternate going counter-clockwise.  To do this, you would place the first weber tree in Viz and copy it.  Then mirror the copied tree and place it over your original tree.

There are other ways of doing the set-up, but I think this would give you the most freedom to create different effects.

Wrapping tree in tow different directions is something that I haven't even thought about. Good call!