Light-O-Rama Forums

.lms back to .sup

Paul Godard

I have .lms and .bak files for my shows.
  How do I change them back to .sup files so I can modify the super star part of my show.
   I have a few .sup files but may have deleted most of them by accident ( cant find them anywhere ) 
   I have all the top end software from you folks, super star pro with add on but I am still learning how to use it.
              Thank you for you time.  ( Only 271 more sleeps to Christmas )

Paul G.

Calgary Canada

You can export .sup files to .lms files but you cannot go the other direction. It would be a desirable feature to have, but its not something that I will be able to do anytime soon.

Paul,

For future use - BACKUP, BACKUP, BACKUP.  Remember that the majority of times people need a backup is not because of a computer hardware problem, but rather because they deleted something that they shouldn't have.  Personally I store all my files to my server which has a RAID-1 array (protects against a hard drive failure), and that gets backed up to an external drive weekly that is taken into work (protects against almost any failure including the house burning down), and at the end of most sequencing sessions I back up the file or files I've been working on to Google Docs (also protects against almost any failure).  Even within a sequencing session, I save the file being worked on with a new filename (for example: Wizards_in_Winter_2016_03-29_1021.sup if I saved it just now).

• 4 weeks later...

So am I to understand that I can not extract the .sup file from a sequence for editing in SS?  My PC HDD crashed, and my backup HDD fried, so all my .sup files are gone, and now only exist in the sequence files (which I saved to a 3rd drive). This would mean that I can not edit the existing intensity files?  This is a big problem.

Edited by Dcroc

I personally save my .sup files to a folder before I export them, just in case I want to edit them later.

Edited by indi