Light-O-Rama Forums

Realistic First Year?

Kram

I have zero experience with programming a light display.  Want input on whether the following is realistic for a first year.

• Showtime Central Starter Package w/the included 16 channel controller
  • Cosmic Color Pixel for two leaping arches

Also, if I use RGB technology, do I need additional software beyond what comes with the starter package?

Thanks for the input!!

Last year was my first year, and I went from ZERO lights in 2014 to 12 controllers.  Most everyone said I was nuts for trying.  I actually had plans for 16 controllers but did actually run out of time.  I am an insomniac and my wife goes to sleep at 7:30-8pm for work I usually got to sleep around 2am.  So i get a lot of programming done at night.  I also don't regret going big the first year, I am glad I didn't start small.... but most start with a couple and rapidly increase there display year to year.  I am adding another 12 controllers this year and about 50k in lights.  I am actually finding it more difficult to adding props to the existing sequencing rather then I did starting from scratch.

I only use traditional lights and not RGB or pixels. just not a big fan of it. So to really answer your question, it really depends on how much time you can dedicate to it.  How much time you can use to build props. 

2016 Will be my first year also, Starting with 32 channels and debating on adding another 16.  We will be going with conventional lights at the moment.  Wish you and me both luck!  Whatta learning experience!

8 hours ago, Kram said:

I have zero experience with programming a light display.  Want input on whether the following is realistic for a first year.

Also, if I use RGB technology, do I need additional software beyond what comes with the starter package?

Thanks for the input!!