Light-O-Rama Forums

Number of Channels for Mega Tree

nathancorson

I am new to LOR and I am trying to figure out how many channels i am going to need for my 20ft Mega Tree this year. It wil have 24 strands of red, white and blue each for a total of 72 and i know ideally i would want to use 72 channels but was wondering if this would be too much for a 16 channel controller. The amps would barely work ( i tested the amps at .29 per string times 72 = 20.88). Or would i be better of using 24 cahnnels with 3 strings per channel. I will have about a 4.25 inch spacing between each strand.

nathancorson wrote:

I am new to LOR and I am trying to figure out how many channels i am going to need for my 20ft Mega Tree this year. It wil have 24 strands of red, white and blue each for a total of 72 and i know ideally i would want to use 72 channels but was wondering if this would be too much for a 16 channel controller. The amps would barely work ( i tested the amps at .29 per string times 72 = 20.88). Or would i be better of using 24 cahnnels with 3 strings per channel. I will have about a 4.25 inch spacing between each strand.

I assume you want each color to be controlled independently, in which case you would be using five channels per color (a total of 15 channels) with one channel left over. Is this right? I think almost everyone would recommend that you do a mega tree in multiples of 4 channels per color to make synchronizing to music much easier (based on the timing of the music, i.e., 3/4 time, 4/4 time, etc.)