Light-O-Rama Forums

A bit more on heavy rain and display setup

Darin Miller

As a newbie, I have certainly enjoyed the information on this forum. I assembled my first CTB16K over the holiday break and it has tested out great. After reading several threads on rain, water, grounding and GFCIs, I am very nervous about next year. Living near Portland OR, the climate is wet and rainy pretty much all of the time. I understand there are two schools of thought on the remedy for rain causing constant GFCI trips

1. Keep the connections off the ground (any extension cord and between light strings)

2. Plastic bag, rubber band, and invert the connections.

My static display this year was constantly tripping the GFCI when wet. I had a hybrid approach to elevated connections with some wrapped. There were only 2-3 nights in December without rain. This kind of weather makes me not even want to do an animated display. A storm for a couple days may seem managaeable if you get a few days to dry out, but we had no dryout time.

I’m certainly not trying to beat a dead horse with the whole GFCI and water debate, but I found myself wanting more information. Here’s my question: Have any of you had a multi-channel animated display run without GFCI trips, for 10-15 days of contiguous heavy rain? Basically the same is putting your cords and strings under a yard sprinkler while powered up.

Darin, I'm just up the coast from you, in Greys Harbor Wa. I'm running 96 chnls, and just got two more kits. Didn't have any problems with water this year, and it did rain most of the month. I don't seal everything in plastic, just so water won't get trapped anywhere. I do keep em up off the ground, just so there not sitting in a puddle, but I ran my show with everything covered in snow, and had no problems.