Light-O-Rama Forums

New LOR user

mmaness

I've done it. I've come over to 'the dark side'.

I'm currently running brand 'AL' hardware/software, but I've been considering going to LOR for a couple of years.

A few months ago, I downloaded the demo of LORs sequencing software and was very impressed with it's features, ease of use, etc. So yesterday, I made the decision and purchased the latest LOR software, and then loaded the GAMMA version of S2. I'm very impressed. Once S2 is fully functional, it'll be totally awesome (to use a California surfer dude phrase).

I'm a computer analyst/programmer, so hardware that performs more or less the same doesn't get my blood running. Software, specifially development tools and editors, are what floats my boat. And LORs software is light years ahead of anything I've seen.

I'll still keep my AL software and hardware. It will have it's uses, probably for a halloween display or maybe stand alone animations during the Christmas show. I have 96 AL channels, so I guarantee that I'll find plenty of uses. But the main Christmas display will be LOR run.

While I said that hardware doesn't get my blood running, price does. And since I can get a PC controller kit that costs less than 1/2 what I was paying for the AL stuff - well, I'm sold.

So I'll be lurking on here, trying to get over the learning curve and getting ready (never to early to start) for my 2008 show.

Mike Maness

Guest wbottomley

Congratulations! I did the same thing three years ago. Don't regret it at all. Customer service is top notch here.

I sold my AL junk on Planet Christmas. And I agree, one AL controller equals two LOR controllers. LOR products are reasonable priced for what you get.

EDIT: spelling.

• 2 weeks later...