Light-O-Rama Forums

DMX Assignments

Jeff Messer

I am sure I know this answer but I needed to ask. Is there a way to assign the dmx channels that are in the 16 channel controllers? 

Jeff  - BTW I thinks the answer is NO...

Jeff in the DMX mode the unit id controls the starting channel number for the controller and it would use the next 16 channels from that number.  To changed the starting dmx address change the unit id (LOR has a list of the channel ID to unit ID listing)  You can not assign the individual 16 channels to different dmx channels. 

Edited by jerrymac

Correct and I fully understand the ID number sets the dmx channels. Is there a way to edit the DMX channels? Reason

I have been using LOR for 9 or 10 years now. My sequences and channel layout are all over the place and not programmed as 16 channels for each box in the sequence. If I use the channel its there if I dont its removed. This goes the same for the boxes.Skipped boxes and channels maybe due to a bad channel or removal of a prop.

LOR on my good machine showed lag when playing it back so I have attempted to play it in another software. The lms files will not import in due to the skipped channels and boxes correctly. 

Jerry, I am down at Bobby's installing the show if you want to pop in and discuss the issue. Maybe even help install like you have done in the past couple years. LOL

Jeff- PS.. I know many will stay use the PE in LOR but there was no information or videos on this when I started programming my show for this year. 

If I am not mistaken... the DMX address is the ID - 1... so ID 2 would be DMX 1.  Is that correct? 

Also, how high of an ID can you set on the LOR controllers?  I think I read somewhere that they will only go to 240.  If that is true than you can't assign any higher DMX starting channels and that leaves about 1/2 of them out.