Light-O-Rama Forums

Someone turn on the lights!!

dburg30

Brand new newbie here, that's totally in the dark.. :P

Just wanted to stop and say howdy, have the software and have been playing with it, just trying to decide how many channels to start off with..

Guest wbottomley

Some good advice... look at some shows that have 16 channels then 32 channels and so on. Then determine how much work you want to do in the first year. Don't overload yourself because the burn-out factor will set in on year two.

Oh, I'm usually one of those that jumps in with both feet, without looking to see if there is even any water in the pool..

I've been meaning to ask you, where along the parkway are you, I love the area around Asheville; the Biltmore, Mt Mitchell, Chimney Rock etc..

I do appreciate all your help here and on PC getting me installed and such :P, I just tend to have a very sarcastic humor in me, and sometimes it comes off wrong. One of my many flaws..

PS, I guess it would be smart to start out with a 16 channel tostart with, but you limit yourself, IMO, and only my opinion when you have 16. I guess thinking of the chasing trees, or the larger tree that has the 'laser' effect when you do one strand at a time, I know those take time to sequence, but things like that seem that you would use them a lot and would do a fair amount of cutting and pasting for those effects..

Perhaps I'm wrong on those types of things.

While you are limited with only 16 channels, for a first year person I wouldn't say that's a bad thing. There are some people that get multiple units, then a few days into it get all frusterated because they can't program worth a darn.

Many newbies do wonderful things with 16 channels, to the point that it's tough to see that only 16 channels are in use.