Light-O-Rama Forums

You all are just wrong!

zvacman

A little warning would have been nice. Perhaps a disclaimer at the top of the LOR home page. This isn't a hobby, it's a way of life. Heck, it is my life! The summer sale is like the drug dealer giving out samples. Sure I'll try it, maybe a 32 channel dabble. I've got the lights anyway, after all I've been doing a 50-100,000 light static show for 30 years, How much work can it be? Well if you happen to have miles of extension cords laying around (which I do) and you don't build any props (which I did) and buy the sequences (which I didn't) it probably wouldn't be too bad. I'm now at 80 channels and added 675 dimmable C9 retrofits, 4 mini trees 3 color each, 2 spiral trees 9 feet tall, and 4 arches with 4 channels each. I have sequenced an intro, 4 songs and a closing. I have been out in the man cave (heated, beer fridge, and 50" lcd, poor me right) since the end of August. You should all be ashamed of yourselves for not even an attempt at warning people what's going to happen. I've been reading the forums for a year or more, not once did I see a link to some kind of support group LOR Anonymous or something like that.

All I have to say is thanks! If I knew where this was going to go I probably would have thought about it some more and put it off another year at least. My wife thinks I'm nuts. I wake up in the middle of the night and jot down thoughts and ideas. The arches came to me Tuesday night as I saw my visualizer in my sleep. This is truly a poor mans hobby. No I didn't mistype, this IS a poor mans hobby. You start with money, and when you are done you're poor. I'm loving it! My brain is firing on all 8 cylinders. I'm already looking ahead to next years show. I watch youtube videos of behind the scenes and realize at 5 controllers I'm just a wet behind the ears rookie.

I can only hope that it looks as good in real life as it does on the visualizer.

Insanely yours, Z

• Like 4

Hello, my name is Tom.